Welcome to Africa Office


ARIPO (African Regional Intellectual Property Organisation) with a central registry in Harare, Zimbabwe facilitates the filing of patents, designs and trademarks.


The member countries in ARIPO are: Botswana, Namibia, Uganda, Lesotho, Swaziland, Zimbabwe, Malawi and Tanzania (Tanganyika). 

An ARIPO application may cover any number of classes of goods or services; and may designate all or some of the above states.  


1. An applicant wishing to obtain an ARIPO trademark registration must file an application form (Form M1) with the ARIPO Office in Harare. A Power of Attorney and the prescribed fees must also be filed but do not need to be filed simultaneously. The fees can be paid within 21 days and the power of attorney must be lodged within 2 months.

2. Applicants whose place ... More details


ARIPO is the African Regional Industrial Property Organization for English-speaking Africa.

The member countries are Botswana, Gambia, Ghana, Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia (from April 24, 2004), Sierra Leone, Sudan, Swaziland, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia, and Zimbabwe.

Please note that protection can alternatively be obtained on an individual basis in any of these countries via a national application in such country.

ARIPO is a member of the Patent Cooperation Treaty (PCT) and the international conventions.

More details


1. A simply signed power of attorney.
2. Graphic/ photographic representations of the design.
3. Assignment from the creators (if applicable).
4. Priority documents.

More details


AGIP Building No. 26, Prince Shaker bin Zaid Street, Shmeisani, Amman

  • P.O.Box 921100, Amman 11192, Jordan
  • Telephone: (00 962-6) 5 100 900
  • Fax: (00 962-6) 5 100 901
  • Email: africa@agip.com
  • Contact: Hanan Elayyan (Miss)